top of page

Mandy Reviews ... THE DARKEST CORNERS


"There are no secrets that time does not reveal."

- Jean Racine -

Tessa's secret has to do with her best friend's cousin's murder. Moving in with her out-of-state grandmother has helped keep that secret hidden. Now that Tessa has come back to Pennsylvania to visit her jailbird father before he dies, the secret Tessa has kept hidden for so many years is threatening to resurface.

Callie isn't at all thrilled to see her former best friend, Tessa, again. Seeing Tessa in her house day after day during her visit just brings back a lot of old memories that Callie has tried to overcome with alcoholism. Both friends are mad at each other for not staying in touch more but neither are willing to be vulnerable first to begin mending their friendship. Only a new murder can open up those floodgates between the two friends. The only problem is ... the new murder is exactly like the string of murders that happened when Lori, Callie's cousin, was killed. How can that be, though, when Wyatt Stokes, the guy on death row that Callie and Tessa testified against, is still behind bars? Did they put the wrong man in jail? If so, who's the real killer?

The Darkest Corners is one of those books that you can't help but try to solve while reading. Just when I thought I figured it out, something new would happen that would make me question my conclusion. It wasn't until the very end where everything came together and made better sense - which I appreciated because I like to be kept guessing in mysteries.

** Side Note **

I don't know if the book is sold this way or if I was just lucky to get it this way as an advanced copy but my book came inside it's own evidence bag - like you would see in a police station. Pretty cool, right? When I opened it, there were also two newspaper articles and an incident report pertaining to the novel. That was THE BEST WAY I have ever received a review copy. I looked over the articles and read the incident report before beginning the novel. I felt like a true investigator/detective. I love stuff like that!

*A physical copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page