top of page

Mandy Reviews ... THE CHANGING SEASON


Billy goes through what all adults have gone through - that awkward phase between high school graduation and learning how to be an adult in the real world. It's not easy. It's not always pleasant. It's a time of growing and adapting. It's a time of brand new, often scary, experiences. It's a time of leaving the comfort of mom and dad's and embarking out on your own. During this time, Billy meets Vickie, has knowledge of the local accident that killed another teen, and gets his first real job that makes him rise and shine before noon.

As I read over this phase of Billy's life, I knew and understood what he was going through. I fell in love with his dog, Jimmy. What I didn't really connect with was Billy and Vicki's relationship.

I understand secrets can kill a relationship but Billy and Vicki talked and acted like they were soulmates. While the secret Billy kept was serious and would cause an argument, possibly a rift, in the relationship, I don't agree that it would've caused Billy and Vicki to split permanently ... especially if they were soulmates like the story implied.

Overall, it was a quick, enjoyable read as are most of Mr. Manchester's books. I'd be curious to know what your thoughts are about Billy and Vicki after you're finished reading it. Let me know!


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page