top of page

Kathy Reviews ... The Fire Sermon


I had high hopes for this book. It had an interesting premise. I loved Hunger Games, but I did not especially care for The Road. Having both in my mindset as I was reading this book may have been a detriment. I would say it has a Hunger Games vibe in that it’s a dystopian society, strong female protagonist who seems to be the catalyst for societal change, and seeming setup of a love triangle. But the pace of the story mirrored The Road. Long and winding, slow and laborious at points.

To be honest, I wasn’t really feeling the chemistry between Cass and Kip. Plus the mystery of Kip’s twin … I pretty much figured it out immediately. I wish that there had been more development to his character in the novel. He was just kind of there as a sidekick, not really doing much to be useful along the way. I guess to be REALLY honest, Cass as a character wasn’t especially compelling, either. Her seer powers made her useful, but otherwise I would say she is a fairly flat character. And Zach, her twin, just sort of came into power without much explanation of how that happened. To become this nightmarish person over the course of a few years is kind of a leap if we haven’t really seen anything other than him being a little jerk as a child.

Not sure if this is indended to be YA or adult fiction. There were some words throughout that even I struggled with, and I feel like I have a decent vocabulary.

I am hoping that the second novel picks up the pace a bit and we get some further insight into Cass, Zach, and the rest of the characters.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page