top of page

Charlene Reviews ... Which Half David


Tobin Matthews and his wife, Jane, are missionaries to the Sulu Republic, ministering to the Bataki people, an indigenous tribe. Tobin’s firm belief in God starts to crumble when he is confronted by government officers and has to defend the tribe, resulting in the deaths of many. Facing a murder trial, his faith is once again shaken when a woman from his past comes to Sulu.

Seen as a hero to the country, Tobin must choose between the honorable man, or his sinful nature. I have read many of Mr. Sasse books. This one was different on many levels, mostly in its parallel to the story of David in the Bible. Using modern situations and in-depth looks into the temptation in Tobin’s mind, the reader can feel and identify with the conflict he faces. Incredible twists keep the suspense ramped up toward the end and I never would have imagined the choices Tobin makes. I was completely immersed from the start and appreciated the Christian beliefs portrayed, as they are rarely written about in today’s novels, no less as open and honestly depicting the struggle of the conflicted mind.

I believe that this is, by far, my favorite of his writings. 5 stars for the relatability of the characters, fast pace and suspense, and a bonus star for making me think of where I stand in my faith. Thank you, Mr. Sasse, for an amazing, entertaining read! Keep them coming...


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page