top of page

Mandy Reviews - The First Love Story: Adam, Eve, and Us


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Since antiquity, one story has stood at the center of every conversation about men and women. One couple has been the battleground for human relationships and sexual identity. That couple is Adam and Eve. Yet instead of celebrating them, history has blamed them for bringing sin, deceit, and death into the world. In this fresh retelling of their story, New York Times columnist and PBS host Bruce Feiler travels from the Garden of Eden in Iraq to the Sistine Chapel in Rome, from John Milton's London to Mae West's Hollywood, discovering how Adam and Eve should be hailed as exemplars of a long-term, healthy, resilient relationship. At a time of discord and fear over the strength of our social fabric, Feiler shows how history's first couple can again be role models for unity, forgiveness, and love. Containing all the humor, insight, and wisdom that have endeared Bruce Feiler to readers around the world, The First Love Story is an unforgettable journey that restores Adam and Eve to their rightful place as central figures in our culture's imagination and reminds us that even our most familiar stories still have the ability to surprise, inspire, and guide us today.

Review:

I think it's safe to say we all know the story of Adam and Eve, even if we don't know any other story in the Bible. What exactly do we know, though? We know Adam was created from the ground, that Eve was created from Adam's side, that God told them not to eat from that one tree, that Eve listened to the serpent and ate from the forbidden tree anyway, that she took the fruit to Adam and he ate it, and then God came down, found out, and kicked them out of Eden. Sounds about right, yes? What Mr. Feiler does is take that old familiar story, the one where we blame Eve for all of our problems, and shows how Adam and Eve's story is actually about love. He also, through literature and talking to experts, shows how Adam and Eve's love story is still relevant to us today.

Throughout this book, Mr. Feiler tends to focus on one person more than the other. He focuses on Eve and shows how she was more important to the story than we were initially taught. Mr. Feiler also personalizes Adam and Eve's story in such a way that it is totally relatable to our personal love lives. We were not meant to be alone. We were not meant to feel alone. Being/Feeling alone is bad. We were meant to have a companion. And, despite what you may think, Mr. Feiler doesn't promote heterosexual relationships over homosexual ones. He never states his opinion one way or the other. Instead, he presents his findings with an open mind and leaves it up to the reader to determine right and wrong where that aspect is concerned.

I can see where the more traditional Christians would have an issue with many aspects of this book. And it's the same reason I can also see where non-traditional Christians could find relatable material in this book. Do I have to say it? Probably so. It has to do with the references to feminism and homosexuality. I feel as if I may be getting close to veering off topic here so let me gear it back towards my review of the book.

Out of 5 stars, I'd give this 3 - not because of one opinion or another, but because it seemed a little redundant in parts. Towards the end, I was just pushing to finish the book. BUT I did gain a new perspective on Adam and Eve's story. I did learn about some influences their story has had on other novels that I knew nothing about, or didn't even consider. I do enjoy it when a book challenges me the way this one challenged my traditional upbringing. I'm always looking for new insights and new opinions to grow my own, whether I stick with my traditional opinions or not. If you are interested in seeing Adam and Eve's story as a love one and not a dysfunctional one, then I would recommend this for your TBR pile.

*A physical copy of this book was provided by the publisher, Penguin Press, in exchange for an honest review.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page