top of page

Mandy Reviews ... The Curse of La Fontaine


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Chef Sigisbert "Bear" Valets has just opened his own restaurant, La Fontaine, in Aix-en-Provence. It's an immediate success--glowing reviews and a loyal clientele, including our favorite investigative duo, Verlaque and Bonnet. But when he decides to extend his restaurant's seating into a historic courtyard, some very powerful neighbors are against him. The local historical society wants the courtyard, which witnessed a seventeenth-century hanging and two World War II-era murders, to remain untouched.

Valets charges on, even after a skeleton is found buried next to the courtyard's ancient fountain. But when Valets begins receiving threatening letters, he becomes convinced that his life is in danger. And then the fountain inexplicably stops running. By disturbing the garden, has Bear triggered an age-old curse? And can newlyweds Verlaque and Bonnet solve the mystery before someone else ends up dead?

Mandy's Review:

When I think of how to describe this novel to you, the main thought that crosses my mind is that it's very French, very European. What do I mean by that? The writing style is very laid back and takes its time telling the story. It doesn't feel hurried at all; almost like a Parisian taking a stroll through the city streets while smoking a cigarette on their way to getting a coffee and croissant. I realize that's a little stereotypical but it's the vibe I got while I read this novel.

The skeleton that's found was that of a young man whose family used to live in Aix-en-Provence. The neighbors all remembered the young man and that he was troubled, but not a bad man. It takes the officials a while to connect any dots concerning his death. Valets detective skills also seem very non-confrontational and easy-going. There were several times he could've gotten angry and threatening to get the information he needed but he didn't. I'm sure it's how Europeans are but, to me (probably because I'm an American), it just seems ... not very effective.

Okay, I'm sure this reads as a negative review but it's really not. It's more of a middle-of-the-road review with 3 out of 5 stars. It didn't excite me but it didn't turn me off either. It was an enjoyable read but not one that I couldn't put down. I enjoyed reading about Bear and his restaurant but was a tad frustrated by how long it took to really get into the story. I would only recommend this novel to a very specific reader - one who enjoys taking time to sink into a story that takes its time revealing its secrets.

*A physical copy of this novel was provided by the publisher, Penguin Random House, in exchange for an honest review.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page