top of page

Mandy Reviews ... Relativity


Ethan is a brainiac kid raised by a single mother and has no idea who's his father. Any time he broaches the subject with his mom, Claire, she changes the subject. When Ethan finds out his dad, Mark, is back in town, he's scared and curious to meet him.

Claire's dream was to be a prima ballerina with a starring role in a ballet. The night she is presented with her dream her world shatters and her dreams have to come to an end. She's then involved in a life-altering course of events that will forever change how she looks at life and love.

Mark is enthralled with Claire as soon as he first meets her. She's everything he isn't and balances him out in ways he never thought possible. He often gets so far inside his own head that he doesn't realize when Claire needs him. The one night he allows his emotions to take control is a night that he will never forget. It's a night of consequences. A night when Mark realizes who he can really be behind his scientific facade.

This book did take me awhile to get through. The science and physics references weren't what got to me. I don't know if I'm going through a phase or what but weak, indecisive, needy female characters really bug me - I don't care if they're in a novel or a movie. I totally understand why Claire would be indecisive because she's trying to protect Ethan from emotional pain but it still bothered me.

Ethan was the constant in this novel. He was like the sun with everything rotating around and gravitating towards him. I really liked him. Even for a 12-year-old, he had a better understanding of difficult situations than some of the adults I know.

Overall, this book wasn't that bad. I'm not excited about it but I don't hate it either. I'm more in the middle ... indifferent.

*This novel was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page