top of page

Mandy Reviews ... If I Could Tell You


Synopsis from Goodreads:

England, 1939: Julia Compton has a beautifully well-ordered life. Once a promising pianist, she now has a handsome husband, a young son she adores, and a housekeeper who takes care of her comfortable home. Then, on the eve of war, a film crew arrives in her coastal town. She falls in love. The consequences are devastating. Penniless, denied access to her son, and completely unequipped to fend for herself, she finds herself adrift in wartime London with her lover, documentary filmmaker Dougie Birdsall. While Dougie seeks truth wherever he can find it, Julia finds herself lost. As the German invasion looms and bombs rain down on the city, she faces a choice: succumb to her fate, or fight to forge a new identity in the heat of war.

Review:

When I received the request to review this novel, I thought it had real promise. I was looking forward to reading a story about a woman who, admittedly, made a moralistic mistake but then picked herself back up and became empowered. What I got was a slow-paced, slightly aggravating, snooze fest. Y'all, I tried. I swear I did because I hate to give negative reviews, especially on books I could not finish. It just wasn't happening for me on this one.

First of all, there's no reason whatsoever that Julia should have had an affair other than she was bored - bored with her life and bored with her marriage. And, I'm sorry, but what she felt for Dougie was pure lust, not love. Not only were they both married to other people while starting the affair, Dougie stayed married the entire time (or, at least, as far as I read). Not only did he stay married, but he started flaunting Julia around to his friends ... friends that knew and were close to his wife. How shady is that?! It bothers me that despite all of Dougie's obvious indications of never making Julia an "honest woman" she still claimed to "love" him.

What I expected was a story of empowerment and I was disappointed. I did not empathize for Julia. I did not cheer her on in her attempt at creating a new life with Dougie. I cheered her husband when he kicked her out and divorced her.

If the synopsis sounds appealing to you - read it. Your tastes may be different than mine. All I can tell you is my experience with it but, by all means, don't let that stop you from reading this if you think it's up your alley. It very well may be.

*A NetGalley was made available by the publisher, Penguin Random House, in exchange for an honest review.


Book-to-Movie Trailer
Archives
bottom of page